coverSUBSCRIBE
Close

BOOKS

Rad Reads

Books to read if you loved The Summer I Turned Pretty

From the idyllic beach town setting to the relationships and characters you can't help but root for, there's a whole lot to love about The Summer I Turned Pretty. If you've already read the entire trilogy and want to add something similar to your bookshelf, look no further! These YA novels will totally tide you over until Season 2 hits our screens. 

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson


@bellawithabook

Second Chance Summer follows Taylor Edwards, whose world is turned upside down when her dad gets upsetting news. Her whole family decides to head to their old lake house for one last perfect summer—but there's one problem. Taylor hasn't been back in years, and the last time she was there, her vacation didn't exactly end on great terms. Can Taylor get a second chance with the people she hurt and still bond with her family during their toughest summer? The swoon-worthy romance, complex family relationships and summery setting give us allll the TSITP vibes.

The Nantucket series by Leila Howland


@friendsreadhere

When it comes to dreamy locations for a summer vacation, Nantucket is def near the top of that list! Nantucket Blue (and its sequel Nantucket Red) take us on a trip with Cricket Thompson, who spends two summers on Nantucket as she explores the island, finding friendship, love and even herself along the way. The coming-of-age themes make this a great series for TSITP lovers to pick up next!

Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen


@penguinteenca

Along for the Ride is just like an ice cream cone on the boardwalk: comforting, sweet and perfect for a hot summer day. Auden has just graduated high school and wants to break out of her super-studious shell before she starts college. When her dad and stepmom invite her to spend the summer at their house in Colby (a charming beach town that totally reminds us of TSITP's Cousins), she decides to take them up on their offer, sparking a life-changing summer. The film adaptation of Along for the Ride was just released on Netflix earlier this year, so you can even turn your reading day into a movie night!

The Summer of Broken Rules by K.L. Walther


@maggiereadsthings

A heartwarming summer romance? Check. The heartfelt family relationships, plus some fabulous yet meaningful Taylor Swift references? Double-check. Yep, The Summer of Broken Rules is the perf read for TSITP fans! This novel takes readers to Martha's Vineyard with main character Meredith Fox. Her entire family is there for an exciting summer wedding—but it's their first time back after the loss of Meredith's sister, Claire. Join Meredith for a week of celebration as she falls for an adorable groomsman, vies to beat her family members at their fave game and aims to honor Claire's memory. You'll *so* want to RSVP "yes" to this wedding!

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick


@booktalkspodcast

17-year-old Samantha Reed wishes her perfectionistic family were more like the Garretts next door—she's envied the chaotic yet close-knit fam for years. Sam's uneventful summer takes a surprising turn when she meets Jase, one of the Garrett brothers. Like TSITP, this novel has a heavy focus on family relationships, along with a love story you'll be extra invested in.

Need more book-related content? Check out these posts!
📚 What you should read next, based on your favorite book
📚 How to start reading nonfiction
📚 5 female poets every girl needs on her shelf

Check out @glbestiebookclub on Insta for more book recommendations!

Slider image @whatlexireads via Instagram | All GIFs via GIPHY

POSTED IN ,

by Samara Smukler | 8/21/2022
share